NIMBioS logo banner.

2010 NIMBioS/UBM Award Winners Chosen

April 27, 2010

UBM photo.

Nine undergraduate students from across the nation have been selected to receive a 2010 NIMBioS/UBM award to attend a national conference on quantitative biology undergraduate education, May 21-22, in Washington, DC.

Recipients will attend the Beyond BIO2010 Celebrations and Opportunities Symposium, which focuses on initiatives underway at the nation’s colleges and universities to transform the way biology is taught at the undergraduate level.

The award covers transportation to and from the conference where students will present their research. All of the winners are students majoring in math, biology or related fields who conduct research as participants in the National Science Foundation’s Undergraduate Biology and Mathematics (UBM) program, an interdisciplinary research and training program for undergraduates in mathematical biology.

Recipients of the 2010 NIMBioS/UBM Award are Cameron Olson (Univ. of Hawaii, Manoa); Kendrick Russell (Univ. of Houston, Downtown); Glenna Buford (Murray State); Charles Larrieu (Univ. of Nebraska, Lincoln); Shunda Rushing (Univ. of North Carolina, Greensboro); Leland Taylor (Davidson College); Kristie Llera (Florida Tech.); Cristina Mazzone (Florida Tech); and Lisa Curll (Youngstown State Univ.).

The Beyond BIO2010 Celebration and Opportunities Conference is a result of the National Research Council of the National Academies' call to action: BIO2010: Transforming Undergraduate Education for Future Research Biologists.  

Bookmark and Share

1122 Volunteer Blvd., Suite 106
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-3410
PH: (865) 974-9334
FAX: (865) 974-9461
Contact NIMBioS

From 2008 until early 2021, NIMBioS was supported by the National Science Foundation through NSF Award #DBI-1300426, with additional support from The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.
©2008-2021 National Institute for Mathematical and Biological Synthesis. All rights reserved.