NIMBioS logo banner.

Daniel Simberloff

D. Simberloff

Daniel Simberloff is the Nancy Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Studies in the University of Tennessee's Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. He received his A.B. from Harvard University and his Ph.D. there (under E.O. Wilson) in 1968. He was a faculty member at Florida State University from 1968 through 1997 before accepting his current position at the University of Tennessee. At UT, he directs the Institute for Biological Invasions.

Dr. Simberloff's research centers on ecology, statistical ecology, biogeography, evolution, and conservation biology, and addresses plants, insects, birds, and mammals. He maintains an extensive world-wide field research program focused on issues of biological invasions and global change and is a leading innovator in the application of statistical methods to large ecological data sets.

His research projects include work on insects, plants, birds, and mammals. He has directed the research of over 30 graduate students.

Dr. Simberloff is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Ecological Society of America's Eminent Ecologist Award. Among his many professional activities, he served as Associate Editor of the Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics (2001 - present), and as a member of the National Science Board (2000 - 2006), the NMFS Recovery Science Review Panel (2004 - 2006), the Editorial Board of BioScience (1994 - present), and the Editorial Board of Biological Invasions (1999 - present).

phone: 865-974-0849
UTK Faculty Page

1122 Volunteer Blvd., Suite 106
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-3410
PH: (865) 974-9334
FAX: (865) 974-9300
Contact NIMBioS

NSF logo. NIMBioS is sponsored by the National Science Foundation through NSF Award #DBI-1300426, with additional support from The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.
©2008-2017 National Institute for Mathematical and Biological Synthesis. All rights reserved.