NIMBioS logo banner.

Ernest Brothers

Emeritus NIMBioS Associate Director for Diversity Enhancement

E. Brothers Ernest Brothers is Associate Dean of the Graduate School and Director of the Office of Graduate Training and Mentorship at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

A native of Greenville, MS, Dr. Brothers received a bachelor of science degree in chemistry and a master of science in natural science from Delta State University, a master of public policy and administration degree from Mississippi State University, and a PhD in urban higher education from Jackson State University.

Before arriving at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Dr. Brothers served as the Peach State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (PSLSAMP) Executive Director at the University of Georgia. During his tenure in Mississippi, Dr. Brothers served as the Louis Stokes Mississippi Alliance for Minority Participation (LSMAMP) Site Coordinator/Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Delta State University. He also worked at the Mississippi State Chemical Laboratory as an Herbicide/Pesticide Residue Chemist, and a Laboratory Project Director for the Analytical Food Safety Laboratory (ASFSL), located in the College of Veterinary Medicine at Mississippi State University.

Dr. Brothers' research interests include retention of underrepresented minorities in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) at majority institutions, managing diversity, and cross-culture mentoring.

phone: 865-974-3634
UTK Faculty Page

1122 Volunteer Blvd., Suite 106
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-3410
PH: (865) 974-9334
FAX: (865) 974-9461
Contact NIMBioS

From 2008 until early 2021, NIMBioS was supported by the National Science Foundation through NSF Award #DBI-1300426, with additional support from The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.
©2008-2021 National Institute for Mathematical and Biological Synthesis. All rights reserved.